Where There is Love and Inspiration

The first time I tried using watercolor was during an elective class in College. I liked playing with the watercolor. I remember using a Prang Pan Watercolor Set with 8 colors. However, when the elective class was over, I stowed my art materials away. Then a couple of years later, I was looking for a new creative outlet; I tried using watercolor again. I liked it; however, there are times when my output is not how I envisioned it in my head. During those times, watercolor frustrated me. This year, I promised myself that I would practice using watercolor more, so that I could be comfortable with the medium.

To restart my “Watercolor Exploration” journey, I tried making a portrait. I got a photo of an actress on the internet and tried copying it. Here is the sketch:
Sundae Scoops Sketch portrait of an actress by Elaine Valerie Ramos


While I was painting the portrait, I rediscovered why I liked using watercolor! There is room to play with the opacity of the colors. Paintings can be detailed or be very loose. Not to mention, the colors mix wonderfully.

Sundae Scoops Watercolor Portrait of an actress by Elaine Valerie Ramos

This small painting took quite some time to finish. I just kept on telling myself that I have to keep on doing what I want to do. Or as Ella Fitzgerald have said…

β€œJust don’t give up trying to do what you really want to do. Where there is love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong.”

–Ella Fitzgerald

Sundae Scoops Watercolor portrait of an actress by Elaine Valerie Ramos

Until the next watercolor practice! Or crochet project… πŸ˜›


For this watercolor piece, the materials used are Sakura Koi and Van Gogh watercolor, Khadi Paper, and Water brush.

6 thoughts on “Where There is Love and Inspiration

Leave a Reply

