Meet the Starters of Pokémon Sun & Moon

Sundae Scoops Pokemon Sun and Moon Watercolor Rowlet Litten Popplio by Elaine Valerie Ramos

When my brother and I were little, we were humongous Pokémon fans. We always guessed the right Pokémon on “Who’s that Pokémon?” segment. We tried our best to follow the PokéRap until we get tongue-tied (because we cannot rap at all). We knew all 151 Pokémon by heart. We became Pokémon Masters countless of times.

Imagine my excitement when earlier this year, the Pokémon Company has announced that this coming November 2016, Pokémon Sun and Moon will be released worldwide. And only last month, they have revealed the starter Pokémons! Meet Rowlet, Litten and Popplio!

Sundae Scoops Pokemon Sun and Moon Watercolor Rowlet Litten Popplio by Elaine Valerie Ramos

Sundae Scoops Pokemon Sun and Moon Watercolor Rowlet Litten Popplio by Elaine Valerie Ramos

Sundae Scoops Pokemon Sun and Moon Watercolor Rowlet Litten Popplio by Elaine Valerie Ramos

Rowlet (left) is a Grass Quill Pokémon that has powerful kicks and razor-sharp leaves. Litten (center) is a Fire Cat Pokemon that can produce flaming hairballs and shed its fur in a blaze. Popplio (right) is a Seal Lion Pokémon that can snort water balloon out of its nose.

Sundae Scoops Pokemon Sun and Moon Watercolor Rowlet Litten Popplio by Elaine Valerie Ramos

For years, the creators of Pokémon have made a whole different world. When I was still in elementary, I would daydream that I have Jigglypuff and Charmander with me on my own adventure. Years pass by, I included more and more Pokémon in my imaginary adventure to become a Pokémon  master. I just hope that the Pokémon Company continues on creating and improving Pokémon reality as I cannot imagine a world without Pokémon. It would be a devastating day if Pokémon says goodbye.

“The more wonderful the meeting, the sadder the parting.”

-Looker, Stark Mountain, in Pokémon Game


The illustration was based on an image I found on the internet. The materials used are Khadi Paper, Water brush, Van Gogh Watercolor and ShinHan Watercolor and Gouache hybrid.

Leave a Reply

